Dudley heritage open days
Come and celebrate Dudley’s rich architecture this Heritage Open Day, thanks to our virtual tours.
Heritage Open Days is a programme Dudley Council participates with each year, particularly in the Dudley Town Centre where we showcase some of the buildings included in our Townscape Heritage Project, supported by the National Lottery Heritage Fund. The event is a celebration of the country’s architecture and culture, where venues not usually open to the public allow access.
We have loads of self-guided tours below, showing some of Dudley’s architectural gems and each year we add to this list. These tours capture the details of the buildings for future generations, as well as for our enjoyment now. Please note, these images show the buildings in reality, as working offices and as closed, unused spaces- they are not sterile museums.
We are taking part in the 2022 Heritage Open Days campaign and further details will be announced closer to the event (9 – 18 September).
This year we will be celebrating Dudley’s rich history of invention, industry and innovation as part of the Heritage Open Day theme of Astounding Inventions. Whether it’s transporting visitors back to the industrial revolution, examining the inventions that power our daily lives, highlighting the legacy of a local inventor, or showcasing cutting-edge innovations - this year we are inviting our festival community to showcase the diverse tapestry of English inventions that make our world go around.
Take this opportunity to find out more and explore our
NEW virtual tours of:
Additional Building Guides
Built in 1935, the building replaced a smaller 1914 store a few doors away which had no room to extend. The building was designed in Art Deco style, which became Woolworth’s
in-house style for the 1930s.
This 1717 building is the oldest existing building of worship in Dudley. It was Grade II listed in 1949, meaning it is a building of special interest and warranting every effort to preserve it. It is now a Unitarian chapel.
Baylies’s Charity School was established by Robert, Samuel and Anne Baylies in 1732. This was a period when many such schools were founded, for ‘teaching, instructing and clothing 50 boys’.